Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



The Bank of East Asia, Limited 東亞銀行有限公司

(Incorporated in Hong Kong with limited liability in 1918) (Stock Code: 23)

DELAY IN DESPATCH OF CIRCULAR

Reference is made to the announcement of The Bank of East Asia, Limited (the "Bank") dated 23 January 2025 (the "Announcement") in respect of the Framework Agreement and the Continuing Connected Transactions contemplated thereunder. Unless otherwise defined, capitalised terms used herein shall have the same meanings as defined in the Announcement.

As stated in the Announcement, the circular of the AGM (the "Circular") containing, among other things, (i) details of the Framework Agreement, the Continuing Connected Transactions and the Annual Caps in respect thereof; (ii) a letter from Gram Capital to the Independent Board Committee and the Independent Shareholders containing its advice on the Continuing Connected Transactions and the Annual Caps; and (iii) the recommendation of the Independent Board Committee to the Independent Shareholders in respect of the Continuing Connected Transactions and the Annual Caps, was expected to be despatched to the Shareholders in or about March 2025.

As additional time is required to finalise certain information to be included in the Circular, the despatch of the Circular is expected to be postponed to a date on or before 15 April 2025.

For and on behalf of The Bank of East Asia, Limited Alson LAW Chun-tak Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 28 March 2025

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Bank comprises Dr the Hon. Sir David LI Kwok-po* (Executive Chairman), Professor Arthur LI Kwok-cheung* (Deputy Chairman), Dr Allan WONG Chi-yun** (Deputy Chairman), Mr Aubrey LI Kwok-sing*, Mr Winston LO Yau-lai*, Mr Stephen Charles LI Kwok-sze*, Mr Adrian David LI Man-kiu* (Co-Chief Executive), Mr Brian David LI Man-bun* (Co-Chief Executive), Dr Daryl NG Winkong*, Mr Masayuki OKU*, Dr the Hon. Rita FAN HSU Lai-tai**, Mr Meocre LI Kwok-wing**, Dr the Hon. Henry TANG Ying-yen**, Dr Delman LEE**, Mr William Junior Guilherme DOO**, Dr David MONG Tak-yeung** and Dr Francisco Javier SERRADO TREPAT*.

- # Executive Director
- * Non-executive Director
- ** Independent Non-executive Director